World Music, Folk, Jazz and more in spring 2020

13 Dec 2019

At Gulbenkian, we are proud to be Kent’s most diverse music venue. Working with independent promoters in East Kent we present a programme that is truly local to global.

Global Sounds with Music For Change
Wonderful musicians from across the world

Tue 11 Feb, 8pm
Kefaya and Elaha Soroor: Songs of our Mothers
T: £12 – £10

Mon 30 Mar, 8pm
Nitin Sawhney: Music & Me
T: £28 – £25

Thu 14 May, 8pm
Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita with special guests Vishtèn
T: £20 – £18

Folk
We’ve been working with Folk in the Barn for a number of years now, to bring the very best on the Folk circuit to Canterbury.

Folk in the Barn presents…
Sun 9 Feb, 8pm
Tim Edey
T: £14

Tue 17 & Wed 18 Feb, 7.30pm
Fairport Convention
T: £26 – £13
Student Member price available

Sat 28 Mar, from 1pm
FiB Fest
T: £42 – £24

Wed 29 Apr, 7.30pm
Calan
T: 16 – £8

Wed 6 May, 7.30pm
Albert Lee
T: £25 – £15

Plus Gulbenkian presents…
Sat 15 Feb, 8pm
Sam Lee: ‘Old Wow’ Tour 2020
T: £15- £12

Songbirds
We continue our series of brilliant female artists, delivered in partnership with POW! Thanet.

Wed 12 Feb, 8pm
Hattie Webb (on sale soon)
T: £12.50 – £10

Wed 26 Feb, 8pm
Amy True with drummer Giuliano Osella (on sale soon)
T: £10

Wed 4 Mar, 8pm
Self Esteem
T: £12.50

Tue 10 Mar, 8pm
Andreya Triana
T: £10

Wed 11 Mar, 7.30pm
Ayishat Akanbi in Conversation (on sale soon)
T: £10 – £8

Wed 18 Mar, 8pm
Olcay Bayir (on sale soon)
T: £10

Sat 30 May, 8pm
Grace Petrie
£16 – £14

The Jazz Sessions
Jazz promoter and performer Sabina Desir is working with us to bring fabulous new and established Jazz to Gulbenkian.

Fri 28 Feb, 8pm
Camilla George
T: £12 – £10

Sat 16 May, from 5pm
The Jazz Ambassadors (on sale soon)
includes film screening, Q&A with Director, plus live performance of the soundtrack
T: £15

Dawn Chorus Recording Company
Canterbury’s independent recording company have two exciting dates for your diary.

Sat 21 Mar, 8pm
Jack Hues: Primitif Album Launch (on sale soon)
T: £8 – £6

Sat 23 May
Save the date for a special event presented by Dawn Chorus Recording Company, details to be announced.

Music Guestlist
We are delighted to present our guestlist events organised by promoters and community groups hiring our spaces.

Sat 18 Jan, 7pm
Square Pegs Singers: Music from the Movies
T: Free, donations on the door.

Sat 18 Jan, 7.30pm
G2 Definitive Genesis
T: 20

Sat 8 Feb, 7.30pm
The George Michael Legacy Featuring Wayne Dilks
T: £24.50

Fri 27 Mar, 7.30pm
The Tina Turner Experience Show
T: £20 – £18

Fri 15 May, 7.30pm
Jive Talkin’ Perform The BeeGees
T: £23